Pools announced for FIBA 3x3 Asia Cup 2023

21 Feb 2023

SINGAPORE - China's (women) title defense starts with a blockbuster clash against the Philippines as excitement builds for the FIBA 3x3 Asia Cup 2023 on March 29-April 2.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by FIBA3x3 (@fiba3x3)

After last year memorably winning their first Asian continental championship, on the back of a bronze medal finish at the Crelan FIBA 3x3 World Cup 2022, China have top billing and headline Pool A which features the Philippines and Iran.

Pool B boasts Asian power Japan, who were upset against surprise packet Indonesia in the bronze medal game last year. They will be favorites in a tough group with Chinese Taipei and Singapore.

Fan favorite Mongolia aim to break their medal drought at the Asia Cup and will look to make a strong start in Pool C, which also features Malaysia and a qualifier.

Pool D might be an open affair with Thailand and Qatar to be joined by a qualifier.

The Qualifying Draw includes former champions Australia, New Zealand and India.

Pool APool BPool CPool DQD AQD B
ChinaJapanMongoliaThailandNew ZealandAustralia
IranChinese TaipeiMalaysiaQatarIndiaKazakhstan
PhilippinesSingaporeQD A WinnerQD B WinnerSri LankaKorea
----Hing KongNew Caledonia

In the men's, 2017 Asia Cup champs Mongolia will be determined to make amends after a shock quarter-final loss last year to the Philippines.

They will have to defy the home crowd when they meet host Singapore in what looms as an exciting Pool A game while the third team will come from qualifying.

Pool B will be headlined by a big clash between three-time defending champions Australia and Japan. The third team in the group will be a qualifier.

After consecutive bronze medals, China will be eyeing a first ever title and they start with a Pool C clash against India with the third team to emerge from qualification.

The Philippines brought the heat to Singapore last year and almost made the podium in their best ever finish in the event. They be hoping for a first-ever medal and start their bid in Pool D against former champion Qatar.

The third team will come from the Qualifying Draw, which includes last year's silver medalist New Zealand.

Pool APool BPool CPool DQD AQD BQD CQD D
MongoliaJapanChinaPhilippinesChinese TaipeiNew ZealandThailandMalaysia
QD A WinnerQD B WinnerQD C WinnerQD D WinnerSri LankaTurkmenistanSamoaHong Kong
----TahitiTongaNew ZealandBrunei Darussalam