37 countries to participate in FIBA 3x3 World Cup 2018 in Manila

18 Jan 2018

MANILA (FIBA 3x3 World Cup 2018) - The FIBA 3x3 World Cup 2018 will feature 40 teams from 37 different countries in Manila, Philippines from 8 to 12 June.

The event - organized by FIBA in cooperation with the Basketball Federation of the Philippines (SBP) - will be the fifth edition of the competition. Russia's women and Serbia's men won the last edition in Nantes, France on June 17-21, 2017. Both teams were automatically qualified for the event as well as the Filipino hosts.

The other teams earned a ticket to the FIBA 3x3 World Cup thanks to their position in the FIBA 3x3 Federation Ranking.

Canada, Ecuador, Iran, Malaysia, Mongolia and Nigeria will make their debut at the event.

Only 3 countries will have a team in both men and women's categories: Netherlands, Philippines and Russia.

All games at the FIBA 3x3 World Cup will be played on the same court with 20 men's and 20 women's teams competing in the event and in three individual contests (men's dunk contest - also open to professional dunkers - women's skills contest and mixed shoot-out contest).

Participating teams

Men: Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Ecuador, Estonia, Japan, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Mongolia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Philippines (Hosts), Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia (2017 winners), Slovenia & Ukraine.

Women: Andorra, Argentina, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Iran, Italy, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Netherlands, Philippines (Hosts), Russia (2017 winners), Spain, Switzerland, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United States & Venezuela.