*36 countries to participate in FIBA 3x3 World Cup 2017 in France

12 Jan 2017

NANTES (FIBA 3x3 World Cup 2017) - The FIBA 3x3 World Cup 2017 will feature 40 teams from 36 different countries in Nantes, France from 17 to 21 June.

The event - organised by FIBA in cooperation with the French Basketball Federation (FFBB), the city of Nantes and the association 'The Bridge' - will be the fourth edition of the competition previously known as the FIBA 3x3 World Championships and which was held in Greece (2012), Russia (2014) and China (2016).

Czech Republic's women and Serbia's men won the last edition in Guangzhou on 11-15 October 2016. Both teams were automatically qualified for the event as well as the French hosts.

The other teams earned a ticket to the FIBA 3x3 World Cup thanks to their position in the FIBA 3x3 Federation Ranking.

This ranking includes sport and development criteria, allowing both the strongest teams on the field as well as the most active countries to participate in the event, which fulfills a key aim of 3x3: diversity.

El Salvador, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Bahrain, Cameroon, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Turkmenistan will make their debut at the event.

All games at the FIBA 3x3 World Cup will be played on the same court with 20 men's and 20 women's teams competing in the event and in three individual contests (men's dunk contest (also open to professional dunkers), women's skills contest and mixed shoot-out contest).

Participating teams
Andorra, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, France (Hosts), Indonesia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Philippines, Poland, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Serbia (2016 winners), Slovenia, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Ukraine and USA.
Women: Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Cameroon, China, Czech Republic (2016 winners), France (Hosts), Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Netherlands, Russia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Venezuela.